Taking Soul Samples

Excavations of a Soul

‘JUST TRY TO RUN FAST ENOUGH TO WHERE IT DOESN’T CATCH ME’…

 

Robin

ROBIN

My dear childhood friend Robin, was brave enough to be TAKING SOUL SAMPLES’  first interview. She is a single mom who works, takes college Equine courses, AND cares for her mother, who is battling breast cancer (Robin often participates in breast cancer awareness events).  Unbelievably, she  still has time to ride her lovely horse, Gazelle.  We didn’t know where we were going with this article, since this is the first for the site.  Remember, I am a former archaeologist not a journalist.   Robin was very patient while I wrote down questions.  I thank her for sharing in her own words.

We will shoot from the hip…Cowgirl style!

What three challenges are you dealing with right now in your life?

 1  ” Always first, is coping with my beautiful baby-girl Hannah Rose living in Canterbury, U.K. for the last three and a half years as a social worker for Kent Co.  Now, having her tell me she thinks she is going to live there long enough to get dual citizenship, 3 or 4 more yrs.  You know what it’s like for your baby to be in an other country, ALL WE GOT IS PRAYERS. THAT’S IT.The what IF is hurtful.”

ROBIN AND HER DAUGHTER

2 ” Mom’s age and related side effects of getting OLD.  Now, throw in a little breast cancer as well!  It is very hard being as independent as I was raised, to have my elderly mom try to tell me how to do everything.   I have successfully sent two children, that God choose to share with me, out into this scary world, and they are way more successful than me.  When you’re 57 and have your
mom stand over you watching and barking out how you need to do it her way.  Oh wait, I AM already nuts.  I’m OCD and my mom is a pack rat.”

Robin for Breast Cancer Awareness

ROBIN for BREAST CANCER AWARENESS

3 “My love for ________.  These last four months gave me hope, then without a word,  haven’t heard from him in 3 weeks.  Last plan when I dropped him off, was he was making the changes with his living arrangements, so we could start our life together. No response to text,  I past him when I go feed [Gazelle] sometimes, the look on his face is, ” I don’t know what to do”-head down, ashamed.  He’s going to AA meetings regular.  Long story on that devil he fights, but not for this.  I have very strong feelings that God brought us together for life, just didn’t know it would be hit and miss so far. But it ain’t over yet.”

ROBIN and GAZELLE

How do you cope with these challenges?
Pray for what I have been blessed with, for what I want. Thanks for watching over us all, big, big job. Being hyper all my life, I stay on the run as much as possible until I drop.  Then do it again the next day. Haven’t gotten to ride in a long time, just go visit and feed my beautiful Gazelle every day, twice a day.  Don’t know if I really have a way of coping.  Just try to run fast enough to where it doesn’t catch me.”

 

 

One comment on “‘JUST TRY TO RUN FAST ENOUGH TO WHERE IT DOESN’T CATCH ME’…

  1. Thomas E. Blaine
    July 20, 2014

    Incredibly and unashamedly honest. I would suggest that Robin’s coping mechanism is her constant “on the go”. My compliments to the commentator for making it about Robin…and to Robin I would just comment “when you find out what IT is that seeks to catch you, perhaps slowing down will provide some answers that are presently missing.” Good luck and thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on July 20, 2014 by and tagged , , , , , .

Navigation